OAC Charter Members

Premier in Central Florida and one of the most prominent chapters in the dynamic Southern Region of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., the Orlando Alumnae Chapter (OAC) was officially chartered on February 20, 1954. Celebrating its magnificent evolution and incomparable legacy, OAC pays special tribute to the 9 phenomenal women who believed in and embraced change, the chapter’s charter members. In so doing, the chapter respectfully honors its first president and organizing force – local activist, educator, and businesswoman Anne Mitchell Felder.

Under the leadership of Ms. Felder, these dynamic she-roes sought to emulate the 22 founders of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.  They dedicated themselves to providing assistance to those in most need, promoting academic excellence and cultural enrichment, and enhancing the overall quality of life for all of Central Floridians.  They served as incomparable role models and mentors and represented diverse career backgrounds inclusive of public school administrators and educators, Federal government managers, and public and corporate executives.

Initial Charter Officers were: Anne Mitchell Felder, President; Nareda W. H. Hunt, Vice President; Estelle Gordon Banks, Treasurer; and Ida Lorene C. Baker, Secretary.

Today, the 180+ chapter members take pride in paying tribute and honoring these noble, visionary, ground-breaking charter members, the mothers of the dynamic, award winning, enterprising sisterhood known as the Orlando Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated.

charter members

Founders Day Celebration 1954

OAC Visionary Charter Members – Embracing Change

Ida L. Carter Baker*

Estelle Gorden Banks*

Sallie Townsend Benson*

Annie M. Border Felder*

Adrienne McKinnis Harrison*

Nareda Holloway Hunt*

Theresa Noble Jenkins*

Vivian C. Fuller Lee*

Melva Jacquelyn Howard Perkins

* Deceased

Comments are closed.